May 24, 2012

  • Whiskey seems to be my holy water

    Those awful things are survivable, because we are as indestructible as we believe ourselves to be. When adults say, ‘Teenagers think they are invincible’ with that sly, stupid smile on their faces, they don’t know how right they are. We need never be hopeless, because we can never be irreparably broken. We think that we are invincible because we are.

    One who knows how to show and to accept kindness will be a friend better than any possession.

    I rather not be a bad ass. i don’t care about making history. i don’t care about being a good girl. I just want to be myself and learn from my mistakes. live my glamorous imperfect life.

    “I always feel like I’m struggling to become someone else. Like I’m trying to find a new place, grab hold of a new life, a new personality. I guess it’s part of growing up, yet it’s also an attempt to reinvent myself. By becoming a different me, I could free myself of everything. I seriously believed I could escape myself — as long as I made the effort. But I always hit a dead end. No matter where I go, I still end up me. What’s missing never changes.”

    Music is a total constant. That’s why we have such a strong visceral connection to it, you know? Because a song can take you back instantly to a moment, or a place, or even a person. No matter what else has changed in your or the world, that one song says the same, just like that moment.

    The most important kind of freedom is to be what you really are. You trade in your reality for a role. You trade in your sense for an act. You give up your ability to feel, and in exchange, put on a mask. There can’t be any large-scale revolution until there’s a personal revolution, on an individual level. It’s got to happen inside first.

    There is nothing progressive about being pigheaded and refusing to admit a mistake.

    I believe that for the most part, love is about choices. It’s about putting down the poison and the dagger and making your own happy ending…most of the time. And that sometimes, despite all your best choices and all your best intentions… fate wins anyway.

    All Heroes Fall: You are defined not by having fallen, but how well you rise afterwards.

    All endings are also beginnings. We just don’t know it at the time.

    You’re only given a little spark of madness. You mustn’t lose it.

     

Comments (21)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *